October 20th is now called Spirit Day. This was created by teenager Brittany McMillan earlier this month. Wearing purple is an attempt to get people to rally together and show support to youth who face bullying. Wearing purple October 20th is a community effort to support the bullied youth. It also honors those teenagers who have taken their lives in recent weeks. The color purple is worn because it symbolizes “spirit” on the rainbow flag, which is a symbol for LGBT pride.

GLAAD has made an application that will make Facebook and Twitter pictures purple in honor of the day. Many statuses also reflect similar sentiments, explaining what the day is and encouraging others to participate. I love purple, but on October 20th it gives special meaning. As inspiration, I have collected some of my favourite aubergine passion pieces.

Michelle Obama who often sports Narciso Rodriguez. Wear that purple girl.


Christian Louboutin. I’m Ready to Rock out.

To work with DVF I go, I think so.

